Testimonials

★★★★★ Review of Photoshop Foundation – Level 1, Mar 2014
‘After meaning to get to grips with Photoshop for a long time, I finally booked myself a place on the Photoshop Foundation course. Mikael was a great tutor, and both the content and delivery were fantastic – well-paced, thorough and with plenty of opportunity to try things out and to ask questions at every stage. I’ll definitely be back for part 2!’
Cathy Pyle

★★★★★ Review of Create a Website, Mar 2014
I took a one day course to create a website. The course covered all the basics and some useful suggestions for further development. It was clearly explained and the tutor took time to make sure that each person kept up.
Nick Haeffner

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Mar 2014
‘It was a very professional yet friendly and informal day. Well paced for a range of people, good detail without getting ‘over technical’. Perfect foundation like it says on the tin. Adrian is really good, patient and interested and really knows his stuff. Really encouraged questions and participation which really made the day work. If you have any questions just ask.’
Allan

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1 and Level 2, Feb 2014
‘I have done both the Beginners Guide Level 1 and Level 2 courses with Photography Course London. I highly recommend them both. Liane Harris was my instructor on both courses. She is fantastic – knowledgeable, enthusiastic, a great teacher and has a passion for photography that is contagious. My goals were to learn how to use my DSLR camera and to know what makes a good photo. I feel that I have accomplished these and so much more. I am inspired to continue taking great photos!’
Candice de Villiers

★★★★ Review of Retouching for Fashion and Beauty, Feb 2014
‘I took the Fashion and Beauty Retouching course with Helen Saunders. Overall I was very happy with the course. Helen has a structure but is still able to tailor the day to the general needs of those on it. I would recommend that everyone reads the section on what you should know before taking the course as this will mean you can get the most out of it and so can everyone else attending.
For me, the course covered what I expected it to, but there was an initial slowness due to having to go over some of the techniques that we were expected to already know.
Helen and the staff at the office were very friendly and there were two (much needed) tea breaks where the kettle was boiled ready for us- and a few cheeky ginger nuts so all in all it was great.
I had a lot of fun and learnt lots of new skills and techniques.’
Annie Hawkes

★★★★ Review of Photoshop Foundation – Level 2, Feb 2014
‘Having previously done the excellent Lightroom Foundation I was keen to return to Photography Course London for their Photoshop Foundation (level 2).
This was an excellent course that covered a lot of important subject matter and developed techniques in a methodical and structured manner to result in a really useful model for my workflow.
Mikael is an excellent tutor and I benefitted greatly from his structured and relaxed approach. Very highly recommended.’
Adrian Sartain

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1, Feb 2014
I’ve just completed the beginners DSLR course with Liane Harris. I have to say that I’m really glad I took this and have signed up to the intermediate class at he end of April. Liane did a great job of explaining the basics such as the interaction between vaious camera settings – suffice to say that the quality of my pictures has improved no end!
Mike Chadney

★★★★★ Review of Street Photography Workshop, Jan 2014
‘Did the street photography course. Ethusiastic knowledgeable tutor. Eye opening walk around east London with plenty of things to snap. Opened up a whole new method of photography to me.’
Richard Kenny

★★★★★ Review of Street Photography Workshop, Jan 2014
‘Recently completed a Street Photography course here. Great tutor in Luke, really responsive and engaging and provided good and practical advice. We covered some of the history around sreet photography and also hit the streets with Luke giving a broad range of advice for different “styles” of photography. Considering doing the Studio Lighting and Video/Filmaking for DSLR courses as well.’
Lawrence Peters

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Jan 2014
‘I found the course very useful as it is many years since I used anything but my iphone to take pictures. It was a good foundation and helped me understand the various functions and just what you can do on manual rather than auto mode. I didn’t have a camera on the day and your kindly lent me one. This encouraged me to buy a Canon 700d and I am putting what I learnt to good use. It was a very well run course with the opportunity to work both inside and out.’
Lee Taylor

★★★★★ Review of One to One Street photography on Location, Jan 2014
‘A 3 hour one to one blast through street photography with Luke Forsythe! Absolutely brilliant fun and highly educational – I learnt so much and really feel this is going to add a new edge to my photographs. Luke was professional, amiable and full of passion for his subject – highly recommended! Thanks Luke!’
Philip Shaw

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1 and Level 2, Jan 2014
I took the Level 1 course with Liane Harris this week and I loved it! She was so enthusiastic and full of energy! I already had some photography knowledge, but this course helped to fill in any gaps… there was a lot I didn’t know about my camera! I also did the Level 2 course this week with Jon Mortimer and again, this was great! He was very knowledgable and it was so interesting to hear about his work and get advice from someone who really knows his stuff. Both tutors were very patient and happy to answer any questions. The group was also very nice and small, so they have time for everyone. I would definitely recommend!
Selina Harris

★★★★★ Review of One to One DSLR & Lighting tuition on Location, Dec 2013
‘I thoroughly enjoyed the one to one course with Jon…
He was very knowledgeable and extremely patient. Great fun and only to happy to help and explain with any questions I had.
My photography has come on leaps and bounds since then so I am only too happy to recommend.’
Steve Currey

★★★★★ Review of Street Photography Workshop, Nov 2013
‘The Street photography course was excellent. I really enjoyed the introduction putting street photography in a historical context but the wow factor was going out on the streets. It really made me start to look at things in a different way and approach composition differently, particularly use of available light. Would definitely recommend’ To see some photos from the course, visit Barbara’s blog here – Funky Rosebud Studio
Barbara Evans

★★★★★ Review of One to One tuition: DSLR, Portraiture and Lighting, Nov 2013
‘Had John Mortimer as a 1 on 1 teacher and he was excellent. really helped me to organise my self and taught me how to structure each image I take. Before I was very snap happy and produced alot of rubbish with the occasional good image, but now all my images are of a much higher quality than they where before, and I have grown in confidence Immensely when it comes to taking photos for clients. highly Recommended for those to want to really advance there skills.’
Jon Sharpe

★★★★★ Review of Street Photography Crash Course, Nov 2013
‘I attended the four-hour-long introductory street photography course run by Luke Forsythe last week Tuesday. Luke started the introduction by showing us well-known photographs by internationally known photographers to give us a feel for the genres, which I enjoyed very much. Via these pictures I think we all got an idea about their work, how they sometimes approached the particular picture, the result we were able to view and we also learned that a lot of patience and endurance goes along with the taking of the actual picture. We then learned a bit about composing a photograph, aperture and speed, ISO and so on, discussed queries we had and then went out to put into practice what we had learned so far. The hands-on bit was great fun and let people in the street believe we were taking shots of celebrities!! I thought the course was well-balanced. A good mix of theory and practice. Luke is a very helpful and easy to approach teacher who encouraged us to believe in our ability to take photographs and never forget to smile when taking pictures out there in the streets as smiling photographers get far in the world of street photography!’
Dagmar Gleditzsch

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1, Nov 2013
‘Digital Photography Level 1 and thoroughly enjoyed it! I learnt so much and I feel much more confident with my camera now. All I want to do is go out and take pictures. I will definitely be going back for other courses, maybe the street photography next time. Thank you very much!’
Jordan Stewart

★★★★★ Review of Portraiture Masterclass, Nov 2013
‘This was a fantastic course. Lots of fun and very informative. I was lucky enough to have Jon Mortimer as an instructor and he was excellent, very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The only reason I haven’t given it 5 stars is because we didn’t manage to get outdoors and test our new skills – I think it could have been a little bit more hands on. Overall though it was excellent – I learnt so much and my photo’s are so much better! I’ve since done the Portraiture Masterclass course as well and that was equally brilliant. Lot’s of fun and a lot of new skills and tricks learnt. As always, PCL is fun, informative and great value for money.’
Ben Logan

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 2, Nov 2013
‘This is a great course for anybody wishing to break out of the auto focus function and have complete control of their digital camera. It teaches you many of the basic technical concepts which will enable you to take better quality pictures whatever the circumstances. Furthermore the course is conducted in such a relaxed and friendly environment. I would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to become a better photographer.’
Damien Abbott

★★★★★ Review of Portraiture Masterclass & Retouching for Fashion & Beauty, Nov 2013
‘I have now attended 2 courses at photography course London and am planning to take some 1 to 1 on some more specific things as they are so good! Masterclass in portraiture is one of the best courses I have ever been on – it was jam packed with interesting info and useful technical tips all interweaved as we went along – the tutor referring to his own experience which was vast… Retouching for beauty and fashion – we covered lots of effective techniques and I am no longer afraid of masks!! The teaching was straightforward and made complete sense, she was patient and kept us stimulated throughout…’
Holly Revell

★★★★★ Review of One to One tuition: Photoshop, Sep 2013
‘I did a 121 on Photoshop session with Gary and I went there as a complete novice totally confused by it all. Following the course I came away with a pretty good understanding on how Photoshop functions and can now indulge in some pretty funky photo enhancements. Great Location and Facilities. The staff involved were all very kind and helpfull and I would recommend them to everyone.’
Simon Best

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1, Sep 2013
‘I have recently finished the level 1 introductory course with Jon and it was simply FANTASTIC!!. I can’t recommend this course enough for any one like me who is a complete beginner or still shooting in automatic mode. Jon has a great way of delivering the material and you can tell he really knows what he is talking about. My photography is so much better and already looking at what other courses are on offer. Thanks’
Richard Murray

★★★★★ Review of Photography for Parents, Sep 2013
‘I very much enjoyed the one day Photography for Parents class with Mikael Eliasson. It covers more or less the same material as a beginners SLR course, but with many useful tips for getting the best photographs of babies, kids, and moms even in generally unflattering situations like the hospital post delivery. I’m weeks away from the arrival of baby number 2 and look forward to getting some interesting, high quality photos unlike the first time around where I didn’t give the baby photos nearly enough thought.
The class was nice and small, so very much felt like a discussion. All of my questions were well answered. I feel much more confident about using my camera and inspired to get down to taking lots of photos. I also found the space to be very pleasant. As others have mentioned, take your own notes to refer back to after the class.’
Cathryn Tonne

★★★★★ Review of One to Two tuition: Fashion & Beauty Retouching, Sep 2013
‘I had the photoshop for beauty and magazine course with Helen and I must say it was very exciting to learn this kind of things. She was very understandable very professional and very kind :)
Don’t think about it just go!!!
P.s I forgot my sunglasses there and they sent it to my address :) ))) thank you x’
George Vafeiadis

★★★★★ Review of Photography for Parents, Aug 2013
‘My husband bought me the Photography for Parents course with tutor Mikael for my birthday to help refresh some techniques and get better pictures of our 4 month old son. The course was excellent, I absolutely loved it. Mikael really clearly recapped on some of the technical aspects of photography, we were able to practice those techniques and gave me loads of ideas to try out at home (wriggly model permitting). I would thoroughly recommend this course to any new parents – I just wish we’d found it earlier!’
Lucy Allen

★★★★★ Review of One to Two tuition: Photoshop, Aug 2013
‘My colleague and I had a 1 to 1 tutoring session with Gary Woods on Photoshop. We’d never used Photoshop before so needed all the basic training. Gary was very patient with us and very knowledgeable on the programme. The staff at Photography Course London were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. The venue is also in a really good, easy to find location. We took all our own notes, however it would have been nice if we could have walked away with a “Basics Photoshop Handbook”, because no doubt if we don’t use some of the features very often then they will be easily forgotten. Overall a very enjoyable and useful session.’
Danielle van Rooyen

★★★★★ Review of Digital Photography Crash Course, Aug 2013
‘Really enjoyed the crash course with Mikael Eliasson in understanding all the settings on my camera. Only had it 5 years, but needed a simple demo type course to learn what was what! Very useful practical information and demonstrations really brought to life the dos and don’ts. Have just had four days away on the coast and have messed around with everything I learnt. Some great improvements in my photos and I now understand how to set it up for different conditions. Still lots more practising to be done, but would thoroughly recommend this course to anyone looking for a quick start. Will definitely be looking to see what else may be of use to me in future courses. Thanks.’
Stella Ellis

★★★★★ Review of One to One tuition: DSLR, Aug 2013
‘I cannot fault Photography Course London, from my first email to them through to my One To One tuition, I cannot speak highly enough of them. I’ve previously tried one other course in London (Covent Garden) but everything about Photography Course London was is a class apart. I can’t wait to go back for the next part of my course.’
Nathan Barnes

★★★★★ Review of Studio Lighting: Products, Aug 2013
‘I took the product photography / studio lighting course with Cleveland Aaron. He introduced me to all the correct techniques and the equipment needed to achieve the results I was looking for with minimal post-production. Altogether very informative and interesting, and highly recommended’
Misha Vaswani

★★★★★ Review of DSLR Filmmaking for Photographers, Jul 2013
‘I totally enjoyed the course. It really fired up my imagination, right from the start. James was also very patient with answering my numerous questions throughout. I am no longer ‘frightened’ of video (or Premiere) and it will now become part of my on-going photographic work.’
Oliver Reed, Photographer

★★★★★ Review of Photoshop One to One Tuition, Jun 2013
‘As a serious amateur photographer who has been using using Photoshop for +10years, I was delighted and amazed at the knowledge I gained form just 2 hours at Photography Course London. The teaching was done very sensitively taking my specific requests into account. I have been on other Photoshop courses and ended up disappointed so I am very pleased to have found an organisation that caters to the needs of students.’
Isky Gordon

★★★★★ Review of Digital Photography Crash Course, Jul 2013
‘An excellent three-hour intro to SLR photography with a patient and gifted teacher. A small group of just ten of us, seated around a rectangular table, so there were plenty of opportunities to ask questions related to your specific camera. As well as the essential basics, there were also some useful tips for helping you to move into the more complex dimensions of taking photos. Plus tea and biscuits!’
Gareth Robertson

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1, Jun 2013
I’ve just completed the 3 sessions of the beginners DSLR course, loved every minute of it and learnt so much. The sessions were very informative and fun and the teacher, Liane Harris, made sure she attended to each one of us and never seemed to tire of having to explain the same thing to me again and again. She was very professional, yet created a very relaxed atmosphere and inspired enthusiasm and confidence. The setting for the course is nice and tea and biccis are provided to give you that sugar boost you need at 8pm. Going to practice all I’ve learnt now and can’t wait to do the next level course in a few months time.
Buabli

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Jun 2013
‘I have just done the Intense Foundation Level One course with Lianne Harris can’t recommend it strongly enough for any beginner wanting to get to grips with their DLSR. The word “intense” nearly put me off but it was a really well thought out and nicely paced day actually and not at all over-loaded with info. Started at 10:30 finished at 5pm and I learnt everything I needed to learn at this stage in order to use the main settings (including where they actually are!!) and why. The handout was useful to have for reference/later but one of the great things about the course was that it was taught in such a way that all the messages sunk in without needing to refer to a booklet – lots of good examples and opportunities to practice and the right level of information. Lianne is a friendly, helpful and professional teacher. I’ll be booking on to the Level Two course when I’ve practised what I’ve learnt so far!’
Lou Oliver

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1, May 2013
‘I have now completed the Level 1 Beginners DSLR Course with Jon Mortimer. It was over 3 weeks in the evenings – it was a perfect way to end each day. The course was really detailed, and Jon was extremely good at explaining the different areas. I really feel like my knowledge has been taken to the next level now, and I am really keen to book up the Level 2 course – just trying to get the dates to work. Truly fantastic course, and would definitely recommend it for friends and family.’
Amanda Weaver

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Jun 2013
‘I have just completed the Level 1 intensive day course with Jon Mortimer. The course delivers everything it promises and you come away having really gotten to grips with the basics and feeling inspired to learn more. I will definitely be booking the Level 2 and would highly recommend the Level 1 to any other beginners. The free tea and biscuits is a nice touch :)
Cinnamon Yoxall

★★★★★ Review of Lightroom Foundation, May 2013
‘I recently undertook the Adobe Lightroom Foundation at PCL and was very impressed indeed. The school itself is modern and comfortable and is run by an excellent bunch of enthusiastic people. Booking the course and all the subsequent admin could not have been easier. PCL offers a really relaxed and conducive learning environment that encourages a fantastic experience that accommodates all levels of skill. The course itself was run by Gary who is a working pro alongside being a tutor. His style was perfect; relaxed and friendly yet highly informative. He also gave us good insight into how real-life workflow is managed using this software. I thoroughly enjoyedy day at PCL and have already put my newly learnt skill to work optimizing both personal and work photos. I will undoubtedly come back for another Adobe course to build my retouching skill and will certainly look into a photography workshop too. Thanks guys and keep up the good work!’
Adrian Sartain

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Jun 2013
‘I took the Intense Foundation Level 1 course about a month ago. I researched several courses in London prior to booking and found the most positive reviews for the Photography Course London. I must say it lived up to its positive reputation. The environment was very relaxed yet professional. The teacher was knowledgable, accessible, and helpful. There was a good balance of teaching, hands on experience and critique. The teacher covered everything on the outline but at the same time wasn’t opposed to deviating to address other questions raised by the students. It was a great experience and I am looking forward to taking Level 2.’
Beth Drummet

★★★★★ Review of A Masterclass in Stock Photography with Zoe Whishaw, Jun 2013
‘The stock photography masterclass gave me the fundamental answers and clarity about the business I was looking for. It was very fast paced and there was a lot to get through. Overall very concise and informative. Because of the intensity and amount of information given, I would have appreciated some handouts to take home. But otherwise, a course that left you with a clear picture of the industry and how it works.’
Catherine Taylor Cummins

★★★★★ Review of Beginners Guide to Digital Photography – Level 1 and Level 2, Jun 2013
‘I’ve just completed the Level 1 Beginners Guide to Digital Photography course with Jon Mortimer. This was probably one of the more enjoyable courses I can remember taking. I’ve learnt the basics of taking photographs with a DSLR camera in semi-manual mode and had a lot of fun at the same time. Jon is an excellent teacher. For me, he’s got the balance right between content, clarity and informality. So I learnt a lot, but always looked forward to the next class.
Update: I went straight from the Level 1 to the Level 2 evening course with Liane Harris. This was also very enjoyable and there were only three other students. I like the ‘one evening a week’ format as Liane set ‘homework’, which allowed you to practice the ideas learnt during the week. Some of the students took some great photographs. On the last evening we walked from the studio to the Barbican and this was fun taking images in low-light. Overall, the courses were informative and my photography has significantly improved.’
Richard Baxter

★★★★★ Review of A Masterclass in Stock Photography with Zoe Whishaw, Jun 2013
‘I am evolving my photographic practice, defining different channels of activity, developing different revenue streams. I want to have credibility as an artist (!), but also need to generate income – the idea is this will fund my ‘private’ projects, books, digital etc …. So the concept of syndicating some of my photographs has been something I have been preparing for. With Zoe’s insights and knowledge and excellent communicative skills I am now closer to doing this, perhaps more effectively. I am not going to share the core message of the ‘Masterclass’ – go book it yourself!! – but will say that as an ingredient of my practice this activity, how to approach it, how to optimise benefits etc, these issues are much clearer now. A productive and stimulating evening.’
Christoper Everard

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Jun 2013
‘I went on the intense beginners DSLR course with Jon Mortimer and it was truly fantastic. I cannot recommend PCL highly enough – the website is easy to navigate and you can find what you’re after with no hassle; the booking procedure is smooth and simple; the correspondence and communication is seamless…and that’s all before the course even began! On the day the course was informative, interesting, brilliantly communicated, and inspiring. I learnt so much about my camera and photogrpahy in general. And both the theory and practical work were equally enjoyable. I’m already going out and about practising what I learnt on the day…and I can’t wait to go back for the intermediate course. Thanks Jon, Grace, and all at PCL – all in all an outstanding experience!’
Rachael Porter

★★★★★ Review of One to One tuition: DSLR, Jun 2013
‘I enrolled on a one to one course with Liane, and after being extremely nervous on arriving I must say that Grace and Liane were amazingly friendly and made me feel very at ease. I did a one on one course as I wasn’t comfortable asking questions in group courses I have done before, and I found it extremely useful. Liane was there to answer any queries I had regarding my camera and gave me some excellent feed back on ways to improve, and even taught me a few things I didn’t know my camera could do! I would definitely go back to do possibly another course or even if I get stuck in the future to ask some more questions. Very kind and genuine people.
Thanks for all your help. Georgie’
Georgie Belcher

★★★★★ Review of Photoshop Foundation – Level 2 & Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 2, May 2013
‘Professional, interesting and helpful! I have now done two courses with PCL and it was a breath of fresh air. I have a third booked and look forward to learning even more :)
Farah

★★★★★ Review of Intermediate DSLR Course, May 2013
‘The intermediate course at Photography Course London was excellent. Great mix of technical instruction and some ‘play’ time. I thought that I might be a little out of my depth having not attended the beginners version of the course, however, the tutor was very flexible and made sure that I wasn’t left behind or confused. Highly recommended.’
Alex Lloyd

★★★★★ Review of One to One tuition: Product Photography Lighting, May 2013
I just did a product photography studio lighting course with Cleveland at PCL and he was amazing. Really kind and patient and made it really easy to understand. He went above and beyond and was also a really nice guy. This is my second course with PCL and I will definitely be going back in the future.
Katie Lees

★★★★★ Review of Photoshop Foundation – Level 2, Apr 2013
‘I had done an entry level Photoshop course before and I was looking for a more advanced course that could teach me how to follow a correct workflow. The course I took at Photography Course London was exactly what I was a looking for. Although the course last only one day, it was extremely well organised and a lot of concepts were covered. Everything was explained in a very clear way and it was very easy to follow. I would highly recommend this place for the quality of the teaching and the nice environment provided.’
Andrés Martín López

★★★★★ Review of Intense Foundation of Digital Photography – Level 1, Apr 2013
‘As a complete beginner, the Intense Foundation Level 1 course was the perfect introduction to photography. Jon was an excellent and very engaging teacher and the group size was spot on. I will put what I’ve learned into practice and then sign up for Level 2. Thanks to all at PCL for a great day.’
Amy Anderson

★★★★★ Review of Portraiture Masterclass, Apr 2013
‘I had a very interesting day at the Portraiture Masterclass. A very thoughtful and well put together programme – much food for thought! Many Thanks!’
Nina Large

★★★★★ Review of Photoshop Foundation – Level 1, Apr 2013
‘The approach the instructor took was to understand why you are doing something and not just do it because thats the way we do it today…  While this means that you do cover some rudimentary material in the morning, when you begin to do more advanced work inn the afternoon the reason for the approach became very clear and helped to reinforce the understanding of the program and its abilities.
As for the instructor himself, Mikael was very knowledgeable, patient and easy to work with. I was particularly impressed by his working knowledge of various different version of PS and even elements. This meant that students with different versions could still benefit from the course and not cost a significant amount of time to the other students.
My only criticism is that I would have liked to cover more material and to have more practice. Glad I did the course and will come back for more.’
Rich Nolan

★★★★★ Review of Going Pro, Apr 2013
‘PCL is a such an amazing place to study photography! All the staff are great and very helpful at all times. I really did enjoy my course and I grabbed the opportunity I had with the high profile professional photographers to know more and more about this field. The learning environment is informal, it’s like to have a chat, very relaxing…
I am really glad to have met you guys “to (re)start” my PRO side.
Thanks very much for your support!’
Rainer Knappe

For more reviews please visit our Google review page -

Comments are closed.